Tag: 3.5


Book Review: BLACK IRIS by Leah Raeder

Book Review: BLACK IRIS by Leah Raeder

BLACK IRIS by Leah Raeder Release date: April 28, 2015 Genre: New Adult Thriller Publisher: Atria Pages: 368 It only took one moment of weakness for Laney Keating’s world to fall apart. One stupid gesture for a hopeless crush. Then the rumors began. Slut, they called her. Queer. Psycho. Mentally ill, messed up, so messed up even her own mother decided she wasn’t worth sticking around for. If Laney could erase that whole year, she would. College is her chance to start with a clean slate. She’s not looking for new friends, but they find her: charming, handsome Armin, the only guy patient enough to work through her thorny defenses—and fiery, filterless Blythe, the bad girl and partner in crime […]

Book Review: LIFE UNAWARE by Cole Gibsen

Book Review: LIFE UNAWARE by Cole Gibsen

LIFE UNAWARE by Cole Gibsen Release date: April 28, 2015 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publisher: Entangled Teen Pages: 320 Regan Flay has been talking about you. Regan Flay is on the cusp of achieving her control-freak mother’s “plan” for high school success―cheerleading, student council, the Honor Society—until her life gets turned horribly, horribly upside down. Every bitchy text. Every bitchy email. Every lie, manipulation, and insult she’s ever said have been printed out and taped to all the lockers in school. Now Regan has gone from popular princess to total pariah. The only person who even speaks to her is her former best friend’s hot but socially miscreant brother, Nolan Letner. Nolan thinks he knows what Regan’s going through, […]

Book Review: THE SECRETS WE KEEP by Trisha Leaver

Book Review: THE SECRETS WE KEEP by Trisha Leaver

Posted April 22, 2015 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

THE SECRETS WE KEEP by Trisha Leaver Release date: April 28, 2015 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) Pages: 304 A girl takes over her twin sister’s identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters. Ella and Maddy Lawton are identical twins. Ella has spent her high school years living in popular Maddy’s shadows, but she has never been envious of Maddy. In fact, she’s chosen the quiet, safe confines of her sketchbook over the constant battle for attention that has defined Maddy’s world. When—after a heated argument—Maddy and Ella get into a tragic accident that leaves her sister dead, Ella wakes up in the hospital surrounded by loved ones who […]

Book Review: NO PLACE TO FALL by Jaye Robin Brown

Book Review: NO PLACE TO FALL by Jaye Robin Brown

Posted December 5, 2014 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

NO PLACE TO FALL by Jaye Robin Brown Release date: December 9, 2014 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publisher: Harper Teen Pages: 368 Source: ARC Amber Vaughn is a good girl. She sings solos at church, babysits her nephew after school, and spends every Friday night hanging out at her best friend Devon’s house. It’s only when Amber goes exploring in the woods near her home, singing camp songs with the hikers she meets on the Appalachian Trail, that she feels free—and when the bigger world feels just a little bit more in reach. When Amber learns about an audition at the North Carolina School of the Arts, she decides that her dream—to sing on bigger stages—could also be her ticket […]

Book Review: A DARKER PAST by Jus Accardo

Book Review: A DARKER PAST by Jus Accardo

Posted November 19, 2014 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

A DARKER PAST (The Darker Agency #2) by Jus Accardo Release date: November 11, 2014 Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Publisher: Entangled Teen Pages: 247 Source: ARC The past is Darker than they thought… Between helping her mother with the Darker Agency and laying the smack down on monster baddies, Jessie Darker puts the “normal” in paranormal. But lately, things have gotten a little crazy…even for a smart-assed half-demon teenage girl. For starters, Jessie’s been contracted into fifty-five years of annoying servitude. To a demon. Then there’s Lukas Scott, her sexy new boyfriend. Once the former incarnation of Wrath, he’s been going through some…uh, changes. Like residual anger. And trading chaste hangouts for lusty make-out sessions. But it’s when Lukas and […]

Book Review: GET HAPPY by Mary Amato

Book Review: GET HAPPY by Mary Amato

Posted November 13, 2014 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

GET HAPPY  by Mary Amato Release date: October 28, 2014 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publisher: EgmontUSA Pages: 256 Source: ARC In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with. A hip high school girl who loves music, writes songs, and is desperate for a ukelele, learns to her shock that her father did not abandon her years ago and has been trying to keep in touch. She begins to investigate him, only to discover that he has a new life with a new family, including the perfect stepdaughter, […]

Blog Tour: COURT by Cat Patrick

Blog Tour: COURT by Cat Patrick

Posted November 10, 2014 by jenniferstrand in blog tour, book review, Uncategorized / 1 Comment

COURT by Cat Patrick Release date: October 23, 2014 Genre: Young Adult Publisher: Self Published Pages: 277 Source: ARC For more than 400 years, a secret monarchy has survived and thrived within the borders of the US, hiding in plain sight as the state known as Wyoming. But when the king is shot and his seventeen-year-old son, Haakon McHale, is told he will take the throne, becoming the eleventh ruler of the Kingdom of Eurus, the community that’s survived for centuries is pushed to the limit. Told through four perspectives, Court transplants us to a world that looks like ours, but isn’t. Gwendolyn Rose, daughter of the Duke of Coal, is grudgingly betrothed to Haakon — and just wants a […]

Blog Tour: SUBLIME by Christina Lauren

Blog Tour: SUBLIME by Christina Lauren

Posted October 15, 2014 by jenniferstrand in blog tour, book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Welcome to our stop on the SUBLIME blog tour! I’m so honored to be a part of this tour and am excited to share my review with you today.  Be sure to check out the other stops on this tour, too!         THE BOOK SUBLIME by Christina Lauren Release date: October 14, 2014 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Romance Pages: 336 True love may mean certain death in a ghostly affair of risk and passion from New York Times bestselling duo Christina Lauren, authors of Beautiful Bastard. Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of Shatter Me calls Sublime “a beautiful, haunting read”. When Lucy walks out of […]

Book Review: IMITATION by Heather Hildenbrand

Book Review: IMITATION by Heather Hildenbrand

Posted August 21, 2014 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

IMITATION (Clone Chronicles #1) by Heather Hildenbrand Release date: July 29, 2014 Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction Publisher: Alloy Entertainment Pages: 272 Source: ARC Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me. The rough fabric of my cotton nightgown chafes so I lie very still. They say my discomfort comes from being built like one accustomed to niceties. How is that fair when I myself have never experienced anything but copies of the real thing? My entire life is an imitation. I am an Imitation. I’ve been here five years. Training. Preparing. Waiting.And now I have a letter.My assignment has begun. I am a prisoner.I am not Raven Rogen.I am here to die. Fictitious Delicious Rating: 3.5 […]

Book Review: THE BREAK-UP ARTIST by Philip Siegel

Book Review: THE BREAK-UP ARTIST by Philip Siegel

Posted April 24, 2014 by jenniferstrand in book review, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Release date: April 29, 2014 Format: ARC Publisher: Harlequin Teen Source: NetGalley Some sixteen-year-olds babysit for extra cash. Some work at the Gap. Becca Williamson breaks up couples. 

   After watching her sister get left at the altar, Becca knows the true damage that comes when people utter the dreaded L-word. For just $100 via paypal, she can trick and manipulate any couple into smithereens. With relationship zombies overrunning her school, and treating single girls like second class citizens, business is unfortunately booming. Even her best friend Val has resorted to outright lies to snag a boyfriend.   One night, she receives a mysterious offer to break up the homecoming king and queen, the one zombie […]